CairnTalk

Overlapping Dogs - Need Advice!

Rattlesnake Gal

I’ve been visiting this Forum off and on for a few years now. What a great site!!! It is my hope that you might have some good advice about adding another Cairn Terrier to our family.

Mac-A-Roo.jpg?t=1288888331

MacKinnon, (Mac) is now 10 years old. He has been an only dog his whole life. Used to be social with other dogs until bout 5 years ago. At a little league baseball game, a stray dog came up to him and stuck its nose in Mac’s butt. I tried to walk away, but the dog stuck like glue. Ever since then he goes Cujo on other dogs. I’m strongly suspicious that he only gets this way near me. At the kennel, he doesn’t pay attention to the other dogs and this summer, my son had luck being in close proximity to my brother’s dog. Not truly worried about fixing Mac. When he is going to be near others, into his soft sided crate he goes – avoidance.

The idea of overlapping dogs is appealing for many reasons, especially for ease of training. Mac is a wonderful dog and we love his behavior! A puppy might help keep him more active too. My vet says that at this age, there is no fixing his aggressive behavior at his advanced age. He also says that the only way Mac will accept another dog is with it being a young puppy. Is he right?

Should we take the chance of disrupting Mac and if we do get another Cairn, will it matter if it is male or female?

I have only had experiences with male dogs.

Thank you so much in advance with this dilemma. I value your knowledge and experiences.

Sincerely,

Celia

Two Cairns are better than one! Mac is so much more active and happily, Bailey loves the lake!

CairnTerrierSignaturepicture.jpg?t=1312994920

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Celia, I have nothing to add to this discussion as I have only just got my first Cairn this year but I just had to say what an adorable looking dog you have there!