CairnTalk

Fostering

Jessica H

I hope this is not off topic but I know people here foster Cairns. I do not plan on fostering Cairns but I would like to foster either a lab or lab mix. I have never done this before and I would like to try it. I am just way too afraid I will get attached too easily.

I have spoken with the rescue league and it is going to be something that I foster dogs until I find one I would like to keep. I want to get a bigger dog BUT I need to be sure that it gets along with Sadie and Scooter and my 2 cats. I also do not want a puppy, I want an older dog which is housebroken and calmer than a puppy would be, I am looking for ages 3-6.

My questions are:

1. How do your dogs adjust to having a different dog every so often?

2. Have you introduced older dogs to your older Cairns? (by old I mean not puppies)

3. Is it really hard when they leave? (I am afraid I will get the first one and it will hate my dogs, kill my cats and I will be too much of a sucker to let it leave, I am a sucker)

4. Have your dogs ever gotten really attached and/or depressed when the dog leaves?

Thanks for the advice!

Jess, Scooter, Sadie and Dozer

DSCN2419-1.jpg