CairnTalk

electric clippers

caseysmama

im a novice. can someone tell me the difference between electric clippers for dogs as opposed to electric trimmers for humans?

http://mall.cairnrescue.com/mdse/show_item.php?itemno=G32

i found these ^ but frankly they look exactly like an old electric trimmer i used to use on my sons hair.

since im not interested in 'showing' casey i was wondering if they would be adequate.

They're pretty much the same. Wahl Clipper, which makes professional human and animal clippers is in my hometown of Sterling, IL. They have a "rummage sale" twice a year in the parking lot and sell various clippers and hair care equipment. I asked them what the difference was one time and the guy said there wasn't much difference at all. Just packaged and marketed differently.

I ended up buying the pet version of their clippers at Wal-mart a few years ago for Packy, since I wasn't able to get home for the sale and even then, you can't be sure of what they'll have. The clippers work fine -- I use them under his belly around the private parts to keep him clean and neat. I have to admit that I used them on his ears the other day because he just doesn't have the patience for me to strip them. They turned out great.

Oh, and my Mom used to use regular human hair clippers she had on our dog. They were old ones that she didn't use on my brother anymore, but they were fine for the dog.

Jandy and my Cairns, Kirby & Phinney 

Have you considered stripping Knives? A bit more work but you'll end up with a lot better coat. Just a thought.

Have you hugged your Cairn today?

As my littler Guster isn't going anywhere near a show ring I strip him as temperature and conditions dictate.

Usually a little touch up every couple weeks with a major take down in the spring, toenails weekly, pin brush and or comb daily.