CairnTalk

Newbie here adopting a Cairn

candy&bogeysmom

We are welcoming into our home a 3yr old Cairn,male. He was placed up for adoption because the family has a young baby that has breathing issues and the Drs. told them that it would be best not to have any pets inside their home. He is already neutered and has spent the last 3 months outside during the day and in the laundry area at nights. They have an older son and he has been the one mainly playing with the dog but he is getting a job so they feel the best thing they could do is find their guy a home where he can be part of a family.

I have done lots of reading on here and other sites as well but I thought I should join so that if I need guidence when our boy comes home I will know exactly who to turn to.

I do have a couple of questions to start with.

1. They said he was housebroke before they put him outside so much. Do I need to treat him just like a pup until he is used to the place?

2. Do they tend to be possive of toys or food? I know each dog has its own personality but is this a common issue?

Congratulations!

I think I would start out by assuming he may have some housetraining issues although at 3 years old it should be easy for him to learn where to do his business.

Maybe confine him to a room or two but where all family activity is...not somewhere off where he's alone. Watch for signals that he has to eliminate and then take him outside where you want him to go.

I would also get a crate for him. They are wonderful for times when you can't watch him, for at night and most will go into their crates on their own for quiet time.

They do all have different personalities and some may be a bit possessive of their food. You could ask his previous owners if they noticed this behavior but I would begin your relationship with him by not allowing him to growl or snap at you or any other family members.

There is a mountain of information on this site and I often do the "search" for help.