CairnTalk

Vet Question

momofelouise

Okay, as I mentioned before, I work as a live-in nanny. My boss brings her dogs tot his one guy who she is on a first name basis with. She has known him since her 15 year old son was little! So that's a long time. It was just automatically assumed I would bring Elouise there, which is fine, because I thought he was GREAT with my charge (Who has special needs) and I think he's funny. Well, since I've brought Elouise in I have found it really hard to communicate with him. For starters I was going to ask him if he could put my sick ferret to sleep (He doesn't do exotics but I figured he might put him to sleep for me) I started off by telling him my ferret has adrenal gland disease and he goes from there to put his two cents ina nd wouldn't let me get a word in edgwise which told turned me off from asking him anything about my ferret because I was upset about having to put him down to begin with :( So then he calls the next day to tell me Elouise has been exposed to "Giardia" (Sp?) and it's a zoo-something or other (The word that means humans can get it, too). I had no idea what either of these words mean and I say, "What? She has what?" instead of expounding he repeats EXACTLY what she has. Then tells me when she's done with the meds for her cough we can start on meds for this if she shows symptoms. Great. I said, "What exactly does she have?" He repeats the same thing!!! Then says, "Want me to spell it?" I spent the next twenty minutes searching on the internet until I figured out what it was! DUH! I know, I should have asked him, but I didn't. Like I said, I can't really commuicate with him well. I took my ferret to be put to sleep today by another vet who was soooooo nice and soooo understanding. Very kind and easy to commuicate with. My boss was a little dissapointed when I told her I was thinking of switching vets - but do you think I have cause to? Seems to me that if my vet won't make an effort to communicate with me or it'