CairnTalk

Grooming Lesson #1

Tracy A.

Hi All:

Well on Saturday I spent several hours learning how to groom a Cairn correctly. I really got lucky and found a confirmation breeder who also has a grooming business in her home. (This is the Cincinnati/Dayton Ohio area) So we worked on my worst grooming gremlin Mettwurst first :devil: and I do have some nicks/bruises to show for it tooo :shock: But I really am proud of him for putting up with us for 2 hours and we got his nails trimmed! That's a big deal- sure it took two of us, but it got done!

Mett Before

mettfacecloseup.JPG

Mett After

Cute Carrot like tail!

DSCN1074.JPG

MettBody.JPG

[DSCN1083.JPG

MettFace.JPG

In two weeks I go back, and my homework is to do Brattwurst on my own. Thankfully If i'm a bad student she does grooming tooo! Same price. I think i'm getting a great deal, 25.00 an hour and Mett took two hours- Out here a bath and nail trim at a groomer runs 40.00!

My husband says Mett isn't as cute in the Face, but that's my fault. I hand stripped his head several weeks ago and took too much off, so to even it out he has shorter face/head furnishings. I did opt to scissor his leggs & underside. His head was scissored a bit to even it out after stripping. His ears were completely stripped to promote hair growth (he did not like that). We also had to even out some divits I left by using my MCK. I learned so much, and who would have thought that a 1.99 pumice stone would be worth it's weight in gold!

So we're all done with my lesson, and my grooming guru says "Let me show you my puppies". :shock:

First words out of my mouth "If I come home with a Puppy my husband will Divorce me", I showed great willpower over the 9 week old Gremlins in training, who were as cute as can be. Thankfully they won't be ready for new homes for several more months....