CairnTalk

An Introduction.

holly hox

Hello, my name is Kayda and I recently joined this forum after lurking for quite a while. After reading the board rules, I didn't see any rule against posting an introduction, so I thought I'd give it a go.

My name is Kayda and I'm an almost-20 soon-to-be junior (once I take and pass my finals) at Grand Valley State University in Grand Rapids, MI. I'm from Metro Detroit, so if any members are familiar with Michigan, you'll understand that it's quite a shock living on the west side. I'm a total animal lover - if it has four legs and fur or anything other animal-like qualities I love it. I have been riding horses for 13 years and have my own horse, Protege, who I've had for six years. I also have a Golden Retriever, Shanny, a calico cat, Callie (pretty original name on my part), a guinea pig, Arthur, and a hamster, Bilbo. I've worked at PetSmart as an equine sales associate and cashier for almost three years now, and plan on continue working there as long as possible, or until I have to go get a "real" job.

So now that you know a bit about me, on to my question. As of right now, I am living in a four-person townhouse with three other roommates and will continue to do so next school year. However, for my senior year of college and beyond, I plan on living by myself and have been looking into getting a dog because, honestly, I can't wait any longer to get a dog of my own. I've begun doing some research into different breeds and into the typical size dog apartments will allow. Almost all that I have come across in my search will allow any dogs under 50lbs. Anyway, through my search I came upon the Cairn Terrier and I think it is the dog for me. I was wondering, based on your personal experiences with the breed, how they are training-wise, how energitic they are, availibility of breeders/rescues/et cetera.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Hi Kayda...