CairnTalk

Feeding Schedules

Blackbelt Jones

Hi all,

I'd like to get your opinions on Feeding Schedules. Right now, we have Clancy on a 3 times a day feeding... 6:30 AM, 11:00AM and 5:30 PM. We leave the food out for about 20 minutes

Some Questions:

1) I have read that you should switch from feeding your puppy from 3 times a day to 2 times a day at around fourth months... is this true? I don't want my little guy to feel hungry throughout the day, but I have seen so many places that twice a day is the way to go.

2) If you do feed twice a day, what times do you use/recommend? I am trying to gauge the average time between feedings...

Thanks!

Sophie (who is grown) gets fed at 6:30 am and again at 5 pm....now most times she only eats at one of the times, it is a rare day that she eats both times.

Sophie

Image032.jpg

Guest Guest

I am no puppy expert or cairn expert for that matter. But I am dealing with the same "do I go from three times a day to 2" question. I have heard it is the right thing to do.

I tried about a month ago to cut back Zoey's food intake. However when I went to 2 feedings a day I would find her sitting in the kitchen next to her water bowl patiently waiting for me to feed her. It soon grew into moans and small barks to get my attention. (I think she figured I just forgot what time it was). I tried to stick with this for about a week --- but noticed she was starting to eat her poop and dig at things while outside. I went back to the 3 times a day and just cut back to 1/4 cup each feeding.

Personally, 3 times a day seems better to me than the alternative I was seeing.

But I would be curious as to others' opinions.

Guest posting as: Hagar