CairnTalk

Mars Coat King stripper....got one, now what?

I went to a dog show today and picked up a Mars Coat King stripper #16. I have NO idea how to use it!

Do I just run it thru the coat? How many times over an area? And, how hard do I push on it?

Worried I am gonna make my Cairns bald!! :shock:

Help!!

Cathy

I use one on Rebel. I use it like a comb. I run it through his hair on his back first then work my way around. Then out comes the comb and if I need to hand strip around his ears or any place else I do that, then I brush him. It all takes no more than 15 minutes once a week. I am not a professional by any means and I just want him to look neat.

He doesn't seem to mind being groomed except when it comes to the toenails... :twisted: I now take him to petco where it is free on Wednesday.

Thanks for your response, Liz.

After reading about Petco doing your dog's nails, I decided to give our's a call, too, as I won't attempt that either. Unfortunately, they no longer offer free nail clippings. I used to do our older Cairn's nails but I cut the 'quick' one time and she yelped and bled so much! Just broke my heart :( .......

May I ask how you handstrip around the ears? And, what do you on Rebel's head? Our little guy is looking a bit scruffy there.

Thanks again,

Cathy

Cathy

When I strip or pull his hair. I will bring up the hair between two fingers on my left hand. Then I pull out the hair that is a little longer. It comes right out and he doesn't mind. It reminds me of when I get a hair cut and the stylist brings the hair up between two fingers and cuts off the longer hair. I hope that makes sense.