CairnTalk

Feeding

Zoey in Maine

Hi All and Happy Holidays

Just curious about the amount of food I should be feeding Zoey now that she is 5 months old. I remember hearing way back when that 5 months is the magical age to cut back on the feeding?

She is currently eating 3 times a day --- 1/4 cup. I think I remember hearing around the 5 month stage you should cut back to twice a day?

Any insight would be appreciated. I will of course wait for the New Year :)

Thanks

I'd cut back to twice a day now. Watch her weight and then you can figure out how much is too much or not enough.

Feeding our Cairns has become a major ordeal for some of us (me included, :confused: )....what to feed, how much to feed, what to add....UGH!

I think the bottom line is how they look, act, their weight, health, stools.....

Thanks === She is actually at a very good weight at the moment or at least appears to be. I am new with the Cairn Breed. Which is why I wondered if I needed to cut back or not, but it seems "food" "feeding time" or even the mention of "food" has become the focus around here.

Its hard to tell if she is "really hungry" or just food focused -- for food sake not hunger.

Does that make sense?

Anyhow --- happy holidays to all you cairn families out there

It makes perfect sense - even after he has just eaten, my pup will act like we havent fed him in a week if he gets offered more food or treats. He just loves to eat. :) :) Funny enough, he isnt so picky with his treats (even those he "finds" on his walks), but with his food he is very very picky. :D

I would go with feeding twice a day now too. My two told me they needed a change when they stopped eating all their food at each feeding. Finch, who is usually a piglet, would even stop eating all her food when I fed her too much.