CairnTalk

Male or Female Cairn

kevinwatkins

Hey guys! Great Forum. Very very informative. I had to have my dog put to sleep about 5 months ago :( . I wasnt sure if I wanted another dog due to the fact that it was sooo hard to have her put to sleep. But now, I think enough time has passed and I am ready to get a new pal.

Which brings me to my question; What are your opinions on Male and Female Cairns. Are there any major differences between the two - temperment wise? Any and all information will be greatly appreciated.

I can't wait to get my new Puppy and post all kinds of questions and photos!!!

Thanks!

Kevin

I know what it's like having to put a dog that's such a part of your life to sleep. My family had to do this with a dog I grew up with and had for over 20 years. This was several years ago but I do remember :(

As for what gender to get, that's really up to you and what you are looking for. Saidi is my first and only Cairn so I'm no expert. I read somewhere that the female Cairn is more assertive and harder to train. Not sure if this is true but can say that my Saidi is very headstrong and wants things her way. She will give in to authority but only after testing us till our patients are at there limit. Keep in mind that this "testing" is a constant thing she does. It's not absolutely all the time, but when the mood strikes her she will see just how far she can go! I have no problem with this but my DW does. Probably because she and Saidi are so much alike :D Now I'm not trying to scare you off of female Cairns, I would not trade Saidi for any other dog (or human for that matter) because she is very loyal and loving to my DW, DD and especially me. My DD thinks it's funny how protective Saidi is of me. She will start play hitting me while sitting on the couch and in a flash Saidi will jump between us showing my DD some ferocious teeth! Now on the other hand Saidi is still one of the girls. When either my DW or DD tells Saidi to get me and then starts cha