CairnTalk

cairn

Guest Nabokov

I am the owner of a 12 week cairn puppy from Spain. "Chomsky" is as great a dog as I spected,highly spirited but very well behaved. Although I am not that concerned about his looks ,he is very handsome anyway,I am starting to wonder about his ears. The thing is ,one of them is pricked sometimes,but the other never or very seldom. Most of the time,he carries both down.Is it possible that he would never have his ears pricked ,or one yes and not the other. I would not mind if he has both down,like foxterriers,but I would not be that pleased with the second possibility. Is it to early to tell ? Can I do anything to avoid that he ends up with one of his ears pricked and not the other?. I would appreciate if somebody can give me some information about that. And sorry for my somewhat broken English.

Guest rottndobie

I'm afraid I can't offer you anything concrete as I am relatively new to Cairns myself and have never had a puppy - I rescued an older one almost 4 yrs ago.

Far as the ears go - this is going back to my Dobe puppy days... I can only guess that perhaps it is because the ear cartledge is not set yet. I know in Dobes it takes many month for that to happen. If you got your Cairn from a reputable breeder I would guess the ears will stand upright with more maturity. I also know that some of your other breeds with upright ears, as puppies they can tend to be down very early in life but do stand later.

Here's hoping someone with more knowledge then I response to your question..

At 10 weeks old, Crunch had both ears up. At 13 weeks old, he had one ear up and one down. Our vet said that that was common. That continued for several weeks. Then one morning, he had both ears up again. Crunch is now almost 6 months old and both ears have been up for a while.

Darcy had both ears down until she was 9 or 10 weeks old. Then for about 2 more week she had one ear up and one ear down. They have both been up since she was 14 or 15 weeks old.