CairnTalk

Purina Pro Plan?

Bailey

Hi!

I found a post about dog food awhile back, but I didn't know if it was worth adding on to. (Sorry I'm new to this) But it was about dog food and it seemed like most of you recommnened Canidae, but a friend of ours recommended Purina Pro Plan Small Breed Puppy. Have any of you heard its quality? Purina wasn't on the list of approved foods, but I didn't know if Pro Plan was different. The breeder currently feeds them Canidae, but I'm in Boston and don't have a car and they don't sell it at any of the stores around here. I suppose I could order it online, but if I could find a comparable food around here that would be much better. Any suggestions?

Trista

P.S. I'm a new Cairn mommy, and I feel like one of those women that have to have the best name brand diapers for their babies. :D

Best,

Trista

The breeder currently feeds them Canidae, but I'm in Boston and don't have a car and they don't sell it at any of the stores around here.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Trista:

Ask the breeder to send some Canidae with Bailey- This way you can mix what ever puppy food you'll use with the current food for a gradual switch over- This will help avoid digestive upset. Some smaller independent Pet stores sell Canidae, you might want to try the Canidae web site and see.

I plan on switching the boys to Canidae at their adult food, but currently we're on Eukanuba Small Breed Puppy because that's what the breeder had them on. I didn't want to risk puppy loose stools:shock:

Oh don't forget the Photos of the new puppy! :wub:

Tracy

Tracy, Amos, Walter, Brattwrust & Mettwurst a.k.a The Gremlins

Trista,

Here's a link to Canidae's web page

http://www.canidae.com

I did a search of stores with area code 617 and found 15 in the area, some addresses shown were Boston, South Boston, Brookline, Cambridge etc. maybe one of those will be close to you.