CairnTalk

the handstripping question

jansop

It's past my bedtime but I have another quick question.

Today I tried handstripping Booker....everything went smooth. BUT, I'm wondering about his face/neck/legs. Do I hand strip all those areas, too?

He looks kinda cool right now, all those WILD hairs are gone. Yep, I did it myself after reading a ton of helpful hints on this great forum.

I know this type of question is repetitive because others have asked also. But I don't have time to do a topic search.

TIA to anyone who can answer my strip question...............jan

jan

He who laughs last thinks slow.

Good for you, Jan, for doing it yourself! Yes, you should do his head, feet, etc. I find using the rubber finger nibs to be the easiest way to get those fine hairs w/o causing pain. Pumice stone really helps, too. You hold it like you would a stripping knife and press the hairs against it with your thumb. The dead ones come right out. Good luck with it!

thela

I am new to stripping to...I bought a Mikki brand stripper and it has made a world of difference..I like it a lot better than my McClellan. I also have an Oster rake that takes the undercoat off.

I think it is recommended that you do a full strip the first time that you strip so yes, you would do the face, neck, etc. I think the only areas that you aren't supposed to strip is the top part of the ears and around the private areas (more painful there). I did these areas VERY CAREFULLY with scissors. I warn you, when you do their face, they look funny for a few weeks until the hair grows back in. Below is a pic of Savannah when I first finished around her face (and before one ear was standing up properly). She asks that you don't laugh TOO hard at her! It is now grown in enough that she actually looks like a Cairn! I am glad that I did her face though because now her coat has the same texture all over.

SAVANNAHDISNEY05003.jpg