CairnTalk

Westminster

Brigette

Okay, maybe I am a novice, but I just saw some of the video feed from the Cairn Terrier round at the Westminster Kennel Show and at the end they were having the dogs two at a time kind of scrap with each other. My friend who shows another breed of dog told me this is "sparring" and they do this in terrier breeds to show the nature of the breed. I just really didnt like this. I know that show dogs are to demonstrate what the breed was designed for, and are trained differently than "pet quality" dogs, but I try hard to teach Yoda to be nice to other dogs at the park or elsewhere. I see the good in Earth Dog trial type things for demonstrating the nature of the breed, but I dont think this sparring is necessary.

Sparring is occasionally a subject of debate. I think it's generally understood that when done properly the dogs are expected to remain fully on the floor and simply stand tall and hold their ground in state of surpassing alertness and confidence. As an example, the dog that eventually won is a master earthdog - I've seen him hunt amicably in the field with a randomly drawn bracemate - sometimes another Cairn, sometimes another terrier breed (or dachshund) - the dog is solid as can be and as well socialized as any good pet. Indeed, for his family, he IS a pet.

As with any debate, there are many who fall on each side of the question of whether or not it is necessary.

CAIRNTALK: Questions? Need help? → Support Forum Please do not use PMs for tech support
CRCTC: Columbia River Cairn Terrier Club 

Well, speaking of Westminster, but on a different subject, I was disappointed yet again to see the cairn overlooked. I thought Oliver was wonderful (I know, I am biased) but he truly did seem animated and to me looked like what a cairn should be. I think he should've at least made the short list. Ah well. I do love this dog show because the commentary is so informative.

Thela

Guest Sparring at Westminster

Hi Brigette: