CairnTalk

Cairns and Hobby Farms

sunshinedd

I am new to the Cairn world and am seriously considering a new puppy to add to my family.

We have a family of 5 with 3 kids ages 2, 9, and 12. We are avid animal lovers and currently have 2 labs, 4 horses, 2 cats, 2 lizards, 2 turtles, and 2 ferret. I fell like Noah sometimes!

I have liked just about everything I have read so far about Cairns but need some help with a couple topics.

How feasible is to have a Cairn on a hobby farm? we have 160 acres and our home is smack dab int he middle. Roads and traffic are not an issue, but fields and woods for roaming are many. I have had pets int he past that need to be consistenly restrained when outside and do not want to do that again.

What do they cost? I am not to thepoint where I want to contact individual breeders but cannot seem to find information on the going rate.

I am interested in becoming a breeder, not a back yard breeder, but a reputable breeder of an excellent and versatile dog. Will it be difficult to find mentors and support in this endeavor?

Thanks so much for your advice and help.

I am interested in becoming a breeder, not a back yard breeder, but a reputable breeder of an excellent and versatile dog. Will it be difficult to find mentors and support in this endeavor?

These are my opinions only. It's easy if you know where to look! As the AKC parent club for the Cairn Terrier in the United States, the Cairn Terrier Club of America very much serves to facilitate responsible breeding and stewardship of this wonderful breed.