CairnTalk

New Cairn, Rescue Male puppy, Need help!

Guest Jacquelyn W

Guest Jacquelyn W

Oz, the new addition to our home, was left at a school yard. Luckily, he was found by a friend of Cairn, who owns four herself. Oz, is believed to be about one year old, and has become a perfect companion for our shy, three year old boy. He plays well but often gets into mischief, like trash cans, laundry, and our son's toys. He is very protective of the family despite living here for just over a month.

Here are my questions:

1. Never having owned a small dog, other than a Cocker that lived into her twenties, we are concerned about Oz's daily activities. My husband works full time and comes home at lunch, and I am in my final semester of college, leaving plenty of play time for all. The times when we are not here however, Oz tends to wreak havoc on the house. I don't feel comfortable confining him in his own home. Any suggestions on keeping his mind off of trouble when left alone?

2. He was being fed dry Nutro, which we have continued to feed him. However, we were considering switching him to Science Diet due to the nasty odors associated with Nutro. Would this be a problem and how should we make the switch?

3. Oz begs for food all of the time. He gets 2/3 cup of food a day and about 4-5 very small biscuits. Should we consider increasing the amount of food we give him?

4. He is a very obstinate puppy, but is doing quite well with simple commands. Yet, he tends to not understand discipline and will continue to commit offensive acts even after being removed from the situation. For instance, he likes to drink the water out of the Christmas tree stand and when we catch him, we take him to his own water bowl. He simply stares at the bowl, and, in a flash, returns to the tree water. Any suggestions?

That's all for now. I'm sure I'll have several more questions to come. Thanks is advance for any advice!