CairnTalk

New Puppy - When to begin Stripping?

Ireland80

Newbie here so apologies upfront if I ask questions that I am sure have been asked before. :innocent:

We just brought home our first ever cairn. She is young, just a smidge over 9 weeks. I noticed when I visited her and her brothers that the boys had thicker top hair whereas our girl has fairly wispy thin top hair. Is this typical of younger cairns? When should we start stripping her top coat? Does it thicken with stripping and/or with age? She is pretty tolerant of me trimming her nails and the hair around her pads so I am wondering if there is anything I should be doing with her now that will aid in stripping later? TIA

She has a black mask just on the lower part of her face and when she looks straight at you it looks exactly like a black mustache. She is cracking us up with her antics.

fury.htm

4028510218614917s.jpg

Welcome! What's your little girls name? She's adorable.

I've never had a Cairn pup - I adopted Buffy when she was approximately 1 year old - but I can tell you that their coats will change over time. Some of our members with puppy experience will be able to tell you more about when to start stripping.

My little puppy is just over 9 months now and his coat is definitely strippable. The coat changes, it gets SUPER fluffy and sometimes will 'dread' up, if you grab the tip and pull, it comes right out, the dog will look at it and be like "can i eat that?"

I wouldn't worry about stripping until he's AT LEAST 6 months, perhaps even longer.

I haven't stripped Boo yet because its deep winter here and I don't want to put a jacket on him. (He eats stuff like that)

I waited till Angus was six months to strip his puppy coat.Doing what you are doing is fine I'd say. When Angus was small like your pup I got him used to me pulling gently on his hair though not pulling any out.

Got him used to me fiddling with his ears and tail. This all helps later