CairnTalk

Preparing for Puppy

angela0119

Hello! I am new to the forum, and will be a proud owner to a Cairn puppy, Max, next month. He is still with the breeder as he is still less than a month old. When I say I am a newbie, I really am...not just to the forum but to Cairns as well. I've read so much about the breed and spoken with owners and I feel like I have chosen the perfect dog for our family. So, I am a working single parent. I work Mon-Fri, 8-5. Before you jump on me like some other folks have about getting a puppy, and being away from home so much, and how unfair that is to a dog....please know that I am going to do everything I can to make our dog's life happy. That being said, I'm trying to figure out how I will approach housebreaking him. Since I am at work during the day five days a week, I can't possibly keep him in a crate and would never dream of doing that. I also can't keep my eyes on him and stalk him around my house to train him since I won't be home. So, here's my game plan:

Get a large petyard (the octogon shaped plastic gate kind) and keep in my living room or my bedroom while I am at work. Put his crate on one end, food and puppy pad on the other end. The breeder says her puppies are fairly well trained to a pad when they leave her. (we'll see...) Then, when I am home after work and on weekends, do the stalking and taking out and all that business. Crate him at night to sleep and take out first thing in the morning.

As experienced owners, do you think this approach might work or am I going to confuse the heck out of him? Will it be best for me to put the petyard away when I am home or should I just treat that like his little home and leave him access to it always so that he won't associate it with being left alone?

Help! :-)