CairnTalk

Helping a friend

Guest Kelly

I am a trainer, breeder, owner and many other devotional terms for Belgian Malinois. Most people that know me, know that I promote research before purchase.

An acquantence of mine is researching breeds for a dog for the young son (less than 7 years old) and while I have attempted to get them to go to the pound, the mother is wanting a pure breed. Ok I know... can't convince people that there are MANY pure breeds at the pound. So with that said. Next I told her to research each breed and narrow down to a few. The Cairn Terrier is what she has come up with. They have purchased a book from the book store, and while that is helpful, I want to know the nitty gritty of the Cairn Terrier.

1. Maintenance (grooming & such) Stripping????

2. Bidability

3. Family habits [(loving family member, can it put up with kids (I know loaded question)]

4. Health

I have also asked her to look at breed rescue. As an active member of my own breed club, and active in the rescue side of it, I know that forever homes are excellent and a win win for all involved.

Please, I know that it will take time with the answer, but please take the time. An informed owner will more than likely be a forever home and a childhood memory devoted to a breed.

Kelly

Hi Kelly,

I am a first time Cairn Terrier owner after over 20 years of having Springer Spaniels. I will answer your questions from my experience with my own Cairn, and hopefully others in this Forum can add their own. I was attracted to the Cairn because I wanted a small, but sturdy breed of dog and one that would adapt well to my living environment (small condominium).

Maintenance - I have my Cairn groomed professionaly every 6 to 8 weeks. Many owners do this themselves, but I don't have the talent to groom a dog and I want mine to look like a Cairn should look. The groomer hand strips him twice a year, which to my understanding is pretty much the norm.