CairnTalk

Thinking of getting a Jake a cat......

texasx96

I'd love to get another cairn, but I just don't want to go through all the training right now. I was thinking that A cat might make Jake a good companion. Jake is about 3 years old. He has only been around cats briefly, and he goes nuts -- so that may make this out of the question allready. I figure though, if I get a kitten and introduce them gradually and carefully then they will get used to each other and all will be well. I thought that I'd better see if anyone had any experience with this situation before I take the plunge. Also, I did some research on cat breeds and came up with a few that are supposed to mix well with dogs. I have a Bombay, Cymric, Manx, and a British shorthair on the list. I sure would appreciate any guidance.

Here's a picture of Jake from my photoshop Calendar

JULY.jpg

Well, I went ahead and got a cat. Predictably, Jake is going nuts right now, and I cant leave them alone together without putting Jake on a leash. I figure I'll keep putting them in close proximity periodically in the hopes that Jake will get used to her and calm down. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Guest posting as: Duncan

I don't have any helpful suggestions but would like for you to report your progress. I've been home with Duncan all summer and will have to leave him when I go back to school in the fall. After 1 puppy I don't think I want another already and am worried about him being alone. I also thought about a cat. Please let us know how it's going.