CairnTalk

floppy ear

Guest ravenswood

Guest ravenswood

I purchased my pup yesterday her ears were erect. she is 10 weeks old. this morning her right ear was down and floppy is has remained that was all day. Is this normal and will it correct itself? This is my first time in this forum. I hope my question isn't to naive. thank you

Farily normal and usually does self-correct. Some ears come up early and stay up. Some take a very long time to come up, and then stay up. Others go up and down like a yo-yo. Most of the time (not always of course) they are up by six months or so. I personally enjoy the one-up one-down look while it lasts. They look so jaunty.

normal_ears.jpg

CAIRNTALK: Questions? Need help? → Support Forum Please do not use PMs for tech support
CRCTC: Columbia River Cairn Terrier Club 

Guest ravenswood
Farily normal and usually does self-correct. Some ears come up early and stay up. Some take a very long time to come up, and then stay up. Others go up and down like a yo-yo. Most of the time (not always of course) they are up by six months or so.  I personally enjoy the one-up one-down look while it lasts. They looks so jaunty.

• 2 months later...

I have an additional question related to floppy ear. My pup is 7 months old and still her ears are floppy. Are there any remedies to correct this? At one time I had heard of inserting stiffeners into the inside of the ear to 'train' the ear to stand up. Has anyone heard of this or tried it successfully?

Brad, what a cutie pie and indeed those ears are rather jaunty! It's good to be different.

I don't know much on this subject so I'll bow to the more knowledgeable folks.

tjlindsay, that stiffener thing sounds scarey!

Guest Tototoo