CairnTalk

Earthdog

Amber and the zoo

Since I am pretty new to cairns, the Earth dog/Agility competitions are also new to me. I have really been interested in getting involved or atleast attending some of these events. How do we start? Is there a certain age? We want to get Ellie out and let her show her true Cairn self. Besides, I am jealous of all the Earthdog champs around here!!! :) I have done 'similar' competitions, more tracking than anything, with our labs and german shepherd.

Thanks!

Amber

Almost forgot...We are in Iowa :)

6amigos.jpg3amigospose.jpg3amigos.jpgRoscopuppy.jpg3amigos2.jpg

We're the Cairns of America

Start by reading the rules (PDF). Then locate earthdog tests within whatever distance you're willing to drive. The AKC has a terrific event search tool. Then get yourself (and your dog) to a test and sign up for Introduction to Quarry. Spend the day and watch all the tests. People at ED tests are almost without exception friendly and helpful. Intro to Quarry is pretty much exactly what the name implies and doesn't require advance training or preparation other than reading the rules (so you know what to expect). Once you see how a dog reacts to a den situation and the quarry, then you can decide what to do next - move on to try Junior or start to work on 'troubleshooting'.

ED is a blast IMO. And IMDO (In My Dogs' Opinion) :P

CAIRNTALK: Questions? Need help? → Support Forum Please do not use PMs for tech support
CRCTC: Columbia River Cairn Terrier Club 

So then I shouldn't be upset if Ellie runs around like a crazy woman or will not do the tests.

6amigos.jpg3amigospose.jpg3amigos.jpgRoscopuppy.jpg3amigos2.jpg

We're the Cairns of America