CairnTalk

possible drug-induced paranoia

Mary Jane Henry

Hi everyone! I've never used a "forum" before, but I'm hoping to get some help with a big problem. I can't really afford to take my 14 month old Cairn to the vet for a couple of weeks, but she seems to have a big problem *right now*! She came from an excellent breeder and I stayed home with her for the first year and she was very carefully raised. She used to be a vey fiesty, confident, full-of-herself little dog with attitude ~ but over the past 4 days has turned into a bundle of nerves and is completely different ~ hiding under beds, cowering and shivering and crouching down close to the floor! I'm worried that someone has abused her, but I also wonder if she could have eaten something. I found an empty foil wrapper for red "extra-strength" "Cepacol" cough drops under the bed where she's been hiding and also a chocolate wrapper! She eats everything she can find - could this be the problem? And if so, how can I de-toxify her?!? Also, what other common drugs could have caused this very wierd behaviour? Hoping for help!

my dog was hallucinating after taking a doggy drug that was supposed to calm him. But the effects wore off after a few hours.

He acted paranoid after getting his rabies shot and simultaneously having a pinched nerve. l tablet of Baby aspirin morning and evening helped in that incident.

The internet is a good place to look for information, but a terrible place to get urgent medical advice.

Chocolate is well-known as toxic for dogs. Some can tolerate a small amount in various degrees, depending on the size of the dog, the amount of chocolate, the kind of chocolate, and so on. An unknown amount of chocolate would have me to the vet RIGHT NOW.

http://www.barkbytes.com/medical/med0011.htm

http://www.vetheart.com/choc.html

Further, any abrupt change in attitude in behavior is a warning sign of something that may need vet attention. If this were my dog she would be at the vet RIGHT NOW.