CairnTalk

Conformation or Obedience

hallswel

I have gotten several different answers on which class for Sugar to begin. I was going to start her in confirmation class since I really don't want her sitting in the show ring and that is usually the first thing they are taught. One of the trainers said to remember I have a terrier so obedience is very important. Sugar won't begin classes for another month so I have some time to decide.

The only command I have been working on is Stand. I also have been working on the biting and touching the feet, ears and entire body.

There is so much information it is overwhelming at times. I like hearing what the people on this site have to say.

Liz

Rebel, Hammurabi, Sugar, Dirty Harry, Paint, Duncan and Saffron

Hi I'm new to dogs and showing, but we just finished puppy obedience class with maggie and start her first conformation class tommorrow (she's 5 months)... i think if you want to show her then get into conformation early...just to get her used to the process (and for me too! -ive never tried this before, only been to a dog show twice for the first time this year!) ... why did she learn to sit?...i've seen show dogs sit, but i think its best to not teach them that... we had the only puppy in class that we kept saying stand to when everyone else was saying sit... it went well!

a

I think you can do both. Of the two, it's more important to me to get some obedience training on the dog. Even though a puppy can be shown - and even finished - while still a puppy, I think if your plan is to live with the dog for a lifetime, you can and should do both. If push came to shove, it's the showing I'd put off if anything. For a pushover (sucker) like me, the obedience training helps in the show ring too - even if I have to give them 'the boot' once in a while to stop them from sitting.