CairnTalk

Fear and panic

lamar1

Fred is deathly afraid of garbage day because of the truck.  He can't find a single place in the house where he feels safe.  He pees and pants, constantly roaming around looking for somewhere he feels safe.  Obviously he can't find it.

Same thing for fireworks, and my neighborhood is full of pyros.  Almost every. Single. Weekend. All. Summer. Long.

He gets so worked up his tongue turns purple.  I've hired trainers (VERY costly) to come to my house and help with this type of thing, but they do very little instruction and more demonstration.  I cannot grasp what they're trying to teach me because they're not teaching!  Seems they say 'watch me get him to do this', just throw treats around on the floor, Fred performs, they leave with my money and I have no more technique or knowledge than I started with.

Once the rocket is launched, there's no getting him back.  The garbage men start roaming the neighborhood around 10am, ending up at our house when I'm home around 12:30pm.  I go home for lunch every day, but by the time I get to him it's far too late to calm him.  His anxiety starts as soon as he hears the truck a few blocks away.

After the truck passes our house, it's almost like a switch.  He stops panting, lays down, breathes fast and shallow, and usually falls asleep.  He's responsive, will take treats, just tired it seems.