CairnTalk

Watch Out World! It's WEE MIKEY!

DanBar Ranch

Hi everyone!

My name is Diane. I live in Goldendale, WA. I just moved here from Western WA where I have been a lifelong resident. I will say I LOVE IT HERE!

I retired here to have room for my dogs to run. I have five American pit bulls, two Black and Tan Coonhounds and now Wee Mikey the cairn! He is 8 weeks old. He is here because I lost my 14 year old Patterdale terrier, Tuffy La La right after I moved here. I went through the expense of securely fencing the entire 20 acres with hot new Zealand fencing so that my dogs could run. Lots of deer here....

I have been titling dogs in performance since I was 14, and I''m 56 now! : )  I am slowing down now - no more pit bulls (which I've had for 30 years) as they are just too active for me now. I'm down sizing!  I have to say that I have always loved terriers, and that getting Wee Mikey is opening up a whole new chapter in my life. I am so excited.

I've never done earth dog, because Tuffy was a real farm dog and never could get the hang of just barking at the rats, she would just come out of the tunnel and look for a different way to get to the rat, as her experience in barns was that if one way didn't work, try another. But I think if I start with this guy as a pup he will get the "game".  I've titled dogs in AKC obedience, schutzhund, weight pull, French ring and tracking. I look forward to earth dog eagerly!

Anyway, I am putting this out there as I would like to invite anyone in this part of the world to come train with me...I will be putting up an earth dog tunnel or two as soon as it stops snowing. Maybe we can even hold trials here? I'm gung ho!  I will be getting another Cairn in the summer.

I'm about 40 minutes from The Dalles, Oregon and an hour from Yakima. Please give me a holler if you are interested in earth dog sports in this area!  Thanks for reading my post.