CairnTalk

What Should I Bring Maisie in for Her First Haircut?

LindaMC

Maisie will be 5 months old in two days and her coat is beginning to look a bit straggley, I know this is the way Cairn Terriers are supposed to look but her's is a bit messier, especially around her face.  The hair under her chin is a also getting long.  I try to brush her but all she does is try to bite the brush.  I'm using clicker training to try to condiiton her to letting me brush her but we're not there yet!

I would like to take her in for a puppy cut, is now a good time?  Also, at what age do you begin stripping the coat?

We learned the hard way with our Emmy that cutting is not the best alternative for a Cairn.  Our new puppy, Barney, is being stripped and plucked.  It's a lot of work, and he's not crazy about it, but Emmy has a lot of skin issues.  Barney looks great even though I'm an amateur.  I ordered the grooming book from the Cairn Terrier Club and have watched videos on U-tube on how to groom. 

Angus was six months old when his puppy coat came loose and was easily stripped. I had prepared for this by playing with his coat and getting him used to my touch with hand as well as comb and slicker.since he was a baby.

Plenty of advice on this forum if you look at "grooming" section.