CairnTalk

Overnight Bladder Control Question

Rate this topic

Phill

Good Morning Everyone,

I hope all is well. This is my first time using this forum. My wife and I recently brought home a 13 week old male, Charlie. He has been with us for about two weeks. He is the sweetest dog and suprising quiet. Almost never barks, whines, or growls. We crate Charlie during the night starting at about 10. At this point, he does not whine at all. He is quiet throughout the night. I typically wake up 5am and take him out. He does wake me up sometimes early because he has to go #2. We stop food and water at 8pm and he goes out several times before we go to sleep. He does start to want to sleep at about 8:45-9 and it is almost impossible to keep him active after that.

However, little Charlie, still pees in his crate. My problem is that he does not whine when he needs to go pee. My questions:

Is his bladder just too small right now to make it though the night?

If he does pee in his crate, is it doing any damage to housebreaking and will it stop?

Should I be waking up in the middle of the night to let him out?

If so, how do I get him to calm back down enough to go to sleep?

If I should be waking up, will I get him on a schedule of him always wanting to go at 2 or 3?

His crate is big, but divided. I have a Pet Mate plastic crate that has sweatshits and towels piled in the back to make it smaller while also giving out sent. He can stand, turn, and lay but not much more.

Thank you all for your help and any advice you can offer.

Phillip

Congratulations on the new addition to your family, he will bring you so much joy.

Charlie is still a baby and it will be hard for him to go through the night without an accident.