CairnTalk

Invisible Fencing

jdlongmn

I currently own a three year old neutered male cairn and my family is moving to a house with no fence. Dusty has grown up in a fenced yard, and since there are no other fences in the neighborhood, I was considering installing an invisible fence. I was just wondering if anyone has had any experience with invisible fencing and the cairn breed.

Is it a good match, or because they are bred to kill varments, will the thought or pain of a mild shock hinder their determination?

Thanks.

Jeff

Hmmm, this is one of those hot topics where you could get strong arguments on both sides of the, uh, fence. In the old forum this topic came up. I've pasted the two responses below.

i know of several cairns in homes with invisible fences and they seem to do as well as any other breed. however a cairn with high prey drive or touch insensitivity will chase a bunny across the boundary and then can`t get back in. As a professional trainer i do not like these devises as the dog is controlled by fear of getting shocked. a friends cairn was nearly killed by a neighbors boxer which entered the cairns yard and attacked it and the cairn couldn`t get away. fortunately the owner saw it and ran to the rescue. try a portable ex-pen and take him for a walk yourself. Good excersize!
and
I have an invisible fence for my Cairn and it works great. I was very careful to go through the complete training as described by the product. I think that taking the time to fully complete the training is crucial. Chipmunks, squirrels and rabbits exist within and just outside her boundary and she will not cross(I admit, I was kind of surprised at first). We do not have dogs wandering the neighborhood, so I am not concerned about her being attacked. She loves the freedom of being able to freely roam her domain. Barking can be a problem though.

Hope others comment, but in truth it's early days for this new forum.