CairnTalk

Am I asking too much

Lexi

I'm new to this forum and find it very very helpful since I am a newbie at having dog. Never had one before. I now have a 3 month old Cairn Terrier named Lexi. The potty training is not going as well as I'd hoped. When I take Lexi out she is more interested in what is going on around her and trying to pick up and eat everything in sight instead of doing her duty. I then bring her in the house and not even 5 minutes later she pees in the house. I work at home and watch her constantly. She has a play yard up in my office where she is next to me all day long. I take her out often and most times she won't go outside but will go inside. I clean it up right away always. I'm beginning to wonder if I shouldn't try crate training her instead, even though I'm home all day long. She does fine at night and very rarely, goes in her kennel. Am I asking too much since we've only been at it a month? At what age do they typically start understanding that they need to go outside? Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks much. :)