CairnTalk

Which Mars product for stripping?

tomatosandwich

Okay, I'm about to admit defeat in the stripping category. :( Then I thought I should at least try the Mars thing folks talk about on here. Yikes! There are a ton of choices. Which one do I want to start with?

A direct link would be greatly appreciated!

I've got the same one that Brad listed. Work great for me, but I also just pull by hand periodically (although I'm not good at it!). I would also add a Furminator to your grooming kit if your dog has a thick undercoat like Packy. It's great for thinning it out as needed and he looks about 5 lbs. lighter after I use it! Hmmm...what else do I use a lot? Oh, I like my McClellan stripping knives for legs and face.

All of the above comes with the note that I'm not a good groomer, but people in my local area who aren't familiar with Cairns think they look great. But they stay clean, have healthy coats and I don't have to pay someone else to groom them! Good luck!

Jandy and my Cairns, Kirby & Phinney 

I bought the ten toothed Mars which was sort of a compromise between my dogs, one of which is large and the other small. It works fine so long as I don't get too enthusiastic and take too much hair off. You can really go thru a lot of coat with one of these things so go slow.

Thank you, thank you, thank you all! I'm going to try with the coat-king and the finger thingy-ma-bobs. Thanks for the cautions, Idaho.

I have a master grooming tools stripper size 16. It's like the mars....i just happened to find it at a locally owned pet supply store. The only problem I've had is with the tail. Accidentally took too much off! Oops!

I use a fine comb and thinning shears and hope the dog sits still long enough to get that round puff.--again, go slow, if you get carried away you can run out of hair on one side or the other and have to wait til it grows out again!