CairnTalk

Serious Aggression Problems....HELP!

Guest Ben

Hello all,

I posted on this site a couple months ago with some agression problems with our then young cairn. I have taken the advise to heart, but it doesn't seem that I am making any progress, so here I am again.

Our 7-month old cairn, just spayed, doesn't seem to understand who is boss in general. She gets very aggressive at times, drawing blood from me on a daily basis. Every single time that she gets bitey, I turn her over on her back, grab her muzzle, and stare her down until she gets up. I have been doing this for 3 months and the response is always the same....she gives up and looks away, I let her go, and she comes back with renewed aggression. She is also very guarded about her food and her favorite toys. Last night I was bitten very badly for petting the dog while she was eating. We went through our routine of her on her back, and when done, back at the angry growling, baring her teeth, snapping at me. It never seems to stop....I am at complete wit's end with this, but I can't come to work every day bleeding and not having the use of my sliced up fingers! I also use timeouts in her kennel, but that doesn't seem to help either....

We thought we were doing everything right, we really have no other problems with the dog whatsoever. She is only in the crate at night time, isn't destructive during the day when roaming the house alone, and never has potty mistakes. If anyone has any advice it would be very very greatly appreciated.

Also, one other thing we have run in to....at night if Marley is not in her crate, the smallest of noises will cause her to growl/bark, has anyone seen this? If she would sleep at night outside of the crate, we could be done with it all together....

Again, great site, thank you all for any help that you have to offer.

Ben