CairnTalk

Stripping - How long should I plan?

Buddy's Dad

I have never done it before and now that I am armed with the book from CTCA, I am ready to give it a go.

So how long should I plan to take?

Buddy has 3-4" top coat hair that parts down the middle of his back! It needs to be plucked! He is just over a year old and has never been stripped (we have only had him 3 months).

Thanks, John

- John -

It depends. For a patient dog it can take 3 hours or so (plus or minus an hour, maybe) to completely strip a dog. But I would not suggest doing that to a dog who isn't used to it. I would plan to work on it over the course of a week or two, with short sessions of 10 or 15 minutes at a time. Doing it this way gives the dog a break, prevents you both from getting tired and cranky about it, and allows you many opportunities to stop, have a look at what you've done so far, and plan the next phase.

It's true that Buddy may go through some unusual hair styles along the way (like the reverse mohawk and hula skirt as you take down the topline, which is usually the easiest section) but honestly, it bothers us more than them.

Be patient, do a little at a time, take many breaks, be liberal with the treats, don't wear the dog out, be forgiving of yourself - it's just hair; it grows back. That would be my simplistic advice!

Added: You're in Ft Collins? There are many Cairnites in the area. Get hooked up with the regional Cairn club or even the local earthdog club (which includes several if not many Cairn folks) and you can get some 1-1 coaching for sure.

CAIRNTALK: Questions? Need help? → Support Forum Please do not use PMs for tech support
CRCTC: Columbia River Cairn Terrier Club 

Thanks for the quick reply and the advice! First I need to read the book cover to cover!

The only "regional" club I can find is the Denver club. Any suggestions on how to find Fort Collins Cairn people?

- John -

Uh, taking the US as a whole, Denver is your local club :-)