CairnTalk

Grooming

Dempsy's Mom

Happy St. Patty's! I am new to the Cairn world. This will be my first summer with Dempsy. I can hardly wait for the spring ground work to begin - thanks to all of you who shared your stories on digging. So - I have been brushing Demps and he looks great but I was wondering what do you all do when the summer weather hits and we have 90 degrees. Do you take him in to have his coat cut or do most of you continue with the long coat and just keep brushing and stripping?

Elsie, Max, Meeko & Lori

Hi, and welcome!

I don't believe in cutting a Cairns coat for summer, personally.

It can get into the 90s here too (last year it reached 107) but as far as I am concerned their coat care has nothing to do with temperature. If it's hot, I make sure they are in the shade and well-watered when outside; but most of the time they are in the air-conditioning with us :P

Insulation works both ways. A proper double coat can keep sun off, preventing sunburn, and may dissipate heat. (I've read conflicting articles on this subject, relative to the the heavily coated Northern breeds - some seem to say they need their full coat for protection FROM heat - others say they can only regulate temperature to a certain point. These are huskies, mals and the like.)

That said, two of our three are completely naked at the moment except for undercoat, as they have been stripped down completely. Not because of summer though - because their coats were totally dead from lack of stripping.

CAIRNTALK: Questions? Need help? → Support Forum Please do not use PMs for tech support
CRCTC: Columbia River Cairn Terrier Club 

I had Holly at groomers last week and she got hand stripped down to undercoat - not because it is Spring or anything but her topcoat was looking messy. She looks so good in her "underwear" as this new groomer has done a very good job - must better than the last one I used!

She also looks a different colour - I thought I was collecting a new dog!