CairnTalk

Please help the "clipper challenged"!

hheldorfer

So, as discussed in a previous post, Buffy looks like a hairy yak right now. I've been doing a little stripping each time I brush her (3-4x week) but it's not making much of a difference in terms of her coat. I wanted to take a little length off - especially her belly and bottom - but the electric clippers doesn't seem to be doing anything. I'm a total novice with this - Buffy just joined the family a year ago and had practically been shaved when we adopted her from the shelter. I bought a book on Cairn grooming and a "starter" grooming kit from Colonel Potter - which has been very helpful - but I'm a klutz with the clippers. I don't understand all the clipper jargon - blade sizes, etc.. To make it worse, the clippers are very loud and, although Buffy tolerates them, the noise certainly isn't helping make the grooming experience better. I tried using them with the shortest attachment (comb?) and they don't take any hair off; without the attachment I can get a little hair off but I'm afraid to really press down on them for fear of making her look ridiculous. Can anyone suggest a brand/type/size of clippers that would work better for Cairns? Buffy is a pet and not a show dog so she doesn't have to look perfect, but I'd really like to do a better job of keeping her coat looking nice.

My feeling is that if I make a mistake, it will always grow out. That being said, you might find a groomer in your area who will demonstrate and show you how to use your clippers.

Jandy and my Cairns, Kirby & Phinney