CairnTalk

Slow & Naughty In Agility?

Lorie & Ellie : )

Good morning,

I am new to this particular group, so I hope that I am posting to the correct place and then hoping I can find your responses when I return...LOL!

My cairn, Ellie, is almost 3. We have been in agility since she was 8 months old. I know she likes it, as she can't wait to get into the agility room. She has an obsession for the teeter & A-Frame. BUT... there are times (like last night) where she appears to just lack motivation. She WALKS from each obstacle as if she were going to a funeral. Last night she would go to each jump and just stop right in front of it. Now, she KNOWS how to do all of the obstacles. She can do a full course and somedays do it very well. Speed, however, has never been a strength for either of us.

Her instructor thinks that I need to bring a little more "obedience" into agility...LOL. She is being stubborn (imagine that). So, does anyone have any suggestions? I usually bring chicken breast or cheese for her treat and she loves that. We went to agility practice on Sun, obedience on Mon, and agility class on Tues. Maybe too much, 3 days in a row?

Just curious if anyone has similar experiences, suggestions.

Thanks,

~Lorie & Ellie in Chicago

We are in an Intermediate Agility class with our 2+ YO Cairn Emmy. She too knows how to do all the obstacles (although she is still a little scared/stubborn about the teeter). She is also a little slow when I use treats. Using here ball as motivation, however, is a completely different story. I can't keep up with her when she thinks she will get her ball at the end of what ever exercise we are doing. We have only been using it the last two sessions so this method definitely needs to be refined. It really motivates her & adds the speed.