CairnTalk

Cairn contacts...agility question

agilityterrier

Hello. I'm Joann, I live in Ohio...and now I have a Cairn.

I found Izzy, a brindle Cairn, at my local animal shelter.

So, we're in training and I'm looking for some tips for Cairns.

I will preface my question, by saying I've done agility for over ten years with first a Scottie and then a Wire Fox.. I'm just new to Cairns.

This little Cairn girl is a hoot...she is utterly fearless. She dives into everything. She is also impossible to tire out. She squeeeezes under the gate to get back into the agility area. She loves it. And she particularly loves the contacts.

Okay, here's my question... I think I know this answer already...but at a mere 10", I'm thinking running contacts. Crazy? Or possible?

And, if you have trained running contacts (and not just hoped for the best), how have you done it? Has anyone trained with the Silvia Trkman method?

thanks for any advice

Joann

Wire Fox Terrier C-ATCH Summerfield's Ranger Riley AX, MXJ, NAP, OJP, RN

Cairn Terrier Summerfield's Isabella Bird...agility dog in training

Scottish Terrier MACH Summerfield's Dougal OAP, AJP, RN 1994-2008

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Joann!

Great to see you here! I never trained contacts with Morgan since she was my first agility dog and small. Our instructor at the time had never heard of a small dog missing their contacts so didn't have us train or work them. Well, Morgan opened her eyes! She would miss them sporadically thru her career.