CairnTalk

Obedience School...I need advice

JenJ

Hi all,

I should have asked this question BEFOREhand, but I thought I'd done my research and was comfortable with my decision.

There are a few board-and-train programs in the area I live; some have great reputations, others are known to be intimidating. We were going out of town for the holidays, and I had been talking with friends for several months about these programs. I decided that, since Cassie would have to be boarded, might as well let her have some training, too, since she could certainly use it.

I made sure I had good references (from folks I trusted) and picked a place to take her to. I discussed methods with the place, toured it, etc.

Okay, so I got her yesterday, and the guy who trained her (supposedly) gave me an hour long speech on "dog psychology." He basically said Cassie goes in her crate, then I bring her out to "work on ABCS" meaning, train her, then back to her crate she goes. She's supposed to stay in her crate WITH the door open, and live with a leash on her all the time during the day. Then he put a slip collar on her (nylon) and showed me how you put her back in the crate, basically snapping that leash over and over again until she was COMPELLED to go back in there.

And do you think my munchkin stayed in there? No , of course not, and so he repeated the process over and over again while I was getting progressively more upset. Upset that he was using that collar, upset that she clearly didn't listen to him, and upset that I was expected to do this over and over during the day.

Is this proper training? Cassie seems to be her same self, she clearly wasn't "damaged" there or anything. But I don't think she learned jack, and if she did, I don't know if I'm capable of implementing it because I just can't do that collar.