CairnTalk

Food Allergies

Molly'sMom

Hi, I am new to the cairn board. I have a 1.5 year old cairn named Molly. She has severe allergies to fungals, evironmental, etc. Additionally, she has food allergies. She is allergic to brewers yeast, barley, oats, wheat, liver, flaxseed, and beef. There are some others, but the allergy test says that if the number is below 40, it decreases the probabilty of significance. Anyway, we are having a hard time finding a food that does not have these ingredients. We have tried several different foods, but she is still scratcing and losing hair on her sides. We also have prescription allergy shots that she is given every three days. If any of you have any suggestions, please let me know. I am so excited to be a new member of the board!

Hi & Welcome,

You did not state what foods you have tried. I feed Kramer who is now 3 years old Evo, grain free, high protein, low carb diet.

I checked the ingredients and all you mentioned were not in the Evo. I feed Kramer the Evo small bites. Wheat is no good for any dog. Wheat, corn and the list goes on and on.

Here is the Evo ingredients, hope this helps you. Their website is http://www.evopet.com/default.asp

Ingredients

Turkey Turkey is the clean combination of flesh and skin with or without accompanying bone, derived from the parts or whole carcasses of turkey or a combination of thereof - exclusive of feathers, heads, feet, and entrails.

Turkey is an excellent source of highly digestible protein. Natura uses table-quality turkey in many of our formulations.

The turkey Natura uses is not only human-grade, but also tested to be free of hormones, antibiotics and pesticides, as well as chemical preservatives such as BHA, BHT and ethoxyquin. This is an important distinction because manufacturers are not required to list substances that are present in the ingredients when they go into the pet food.