CairnTalk

General inquiry as to availability of this breed

cairncurious

Hello Folks,

I'm brand new to this forum. I'm brand new to Cairn's as well. I've lived with Collies all my life (I'm 60) and now my wife (just retired) and I want to downsize and we find the Cairn to be a most interesting option. I don't know enough about them to run out and buy one but I want to l learn. I do need to ask this question though. Is it fair to say that the availability of a Cairn puppy from a respected breeder verses the demand for them probably means a significant wait or search is most likely? Or is that impression incorrect? I should also add that we've never bought a dog from a source that involved a sight unseen purchase and delivery. We have always met with the breeder in our region and made our selection there. So I'm leary of buying from a far distant source. Any comments will be useful and thank you all for your assistance.

Cairncurious

hello and welcome!

i personally dont have the knowledge to answer your questions. i was prepared to get casey from a breeder because i was set on a cairn but one afternoon i just decided to browse a local puppy store and there she was.

most people can reassure you that what you've read about them is true. they are strong-willed, spunky and smart. casey is a real treasure to our household, shes great with the kids and has alot of personality.

i understand your concern about buying sight unseen but it seems to be very common these days.

good luck in your quest!

It all depends on where you are and what the breeders in your area have at the time.

Most breeders are equally leery of shipping dogs to new owners sight-unseen unless they have friends who know the new owners-to-be and live in their area.

Check the breeder referral lists on the ctca site, and/or the corresponding lists for the regional cairn club in your area. Call and talk to several breeders.