CairnTalk

Back patio Cairn

Lili

Question: I really don't want my Cairn to be a back patio dog; I want him to be inside the house, an take him out to the back patio only to relief himself on his papers. But many times, one of us (DH, maid or me) takes him out and he won't go right away, and we need to really get going (give the baby his bottle, get a shower, leave for work, keep cleaning up the house, etc.), so we leave him out there for a while. But today I'm thinking that. if he's just out there a long while, he won't get that he's supose to go fast. However, when we've taken him in one of those times thinking he doesn't need to go, what usually happens is... well, you know what usually happens...

What do I do if I take him back and he doesn't go? Crate him? For how long? What good housebreaking advise do you have?

Thanks!

Lili, Toño, Luisa, Gabo, and Mushu.

Have you tried using a specific word association for him that tells him this is what's expected? I'm NO expert and I just stumbled on what worked for me, but from when I had my dogs as pups I'd pick them up and say "Let's go potty" and took them to the spot where they had to go. I'd use it constantly. If they stood there looking at me, I'd just keep repeating "Go potty". After a short while they would come to me with that special look or a paw on my leg to tell me that they had to go out.

Again, I just stumbled on doing that and it always worked for me but others here are WAY more experienced dog owners than I am.

My dogs pee on command because as puppies I always said "go potty" and after they did I praised and gave a little treat (usually just a piece of their food). Now when they are dilly-dallying I say "go potty" and they go.