CairnTalk

Getting a new puppy in September!

JenJ

Hi!

I'm a newbie here to this forum and have loved reading everyone's posts and seeing everyone's adorable furry family members. We are excited to be bringing home our own little cairn in September...this will be our first puppy! I had a cairn growing up, but have not had my "own" dog until now. I was wondering if you all could offer any advice about food, things to look for in our puppy, etc.

Thanks so much!

congratulations and welcome to the forum. We have two Cairns Gooner and Jack 7 mos and 5 mos. We feed them Wellness as pups they got fed 1/4 cup 3 x day of puppy wellness. Jack now gets 1/2 cup and Gooner gets 1/4 cup 2x day and have been off the puppy formula for a couple mos. . Gooner is perfect wt. 12.6 and Jack is only 9.6. We are doing agility with our dogs and so our breeder being aware of this helped us to pick our pup, when we first saw the pups we had first pick, but the one we picked the breeder thought too shy so we took her advice and are glad we did. Hope any of this helps. Deb

congratulations!!! you made the right choice. there's lots and lots of info on here, including on puppy feeding, so search away and lot of your questions will be answered. show us a picture when you can.

Thanks for the advice, Deb and PK! I will have to check out Wellness. We are so excited to get our new little girl, but a bit nervous, too...it's so much like having a baby! I was wondering...did you all ever "interview" a vet before taking your dog there?? Is that weird?? I have some recommendations but would feel better if I met a vet in person beforehand.

I'm sorry I'm so full of questions...but if you have a favorite "must have" puppy item or gadget, I'd love to hear about it! :)

Thanks! I am enjoying this forum, especially the adorable puppy videos. :)

Jen