CairnTalk

Tail stripping

georgie_girl

What's the best way to strip or groom my Cairn's tail? What look should I be aiming for? I've read that the "cone shape" is desirable; how does one achieve that? Has anyone used the MCK on the tail?

I've tried to use a MCK on a tail, it didn't work out very well. I've tried to hand strip a tail and I didn't do it very well :lol:

I really am bad when it comes to Heads and Tails.... Tails I think by far are the hardest. Everytime I touch a tail I leave divits in it.... my grooming teacher has asked me to stop touch Mett & Bratt's tails! I do know a few tips, treat the tail like it's a xmas tree... fan the hair out (so it's flat top and bottom and out at the sides, when you done then fan the hair so it's flat on the sides and up on top and in back) That is the wealth my knowledge!

Tracy, Brattwrust & Mettwurst a.k.a The Gremlins

Tails can be challenging. I'm no expert (a scandalously bad groomer actually) but in the spirit of sharing the misery, here's what I usually try to do. I start with the tip and pull it down to the very tip of the tail, so that the tail length is only as long as the tail itself - maybe a 1/16 or 1/8 inch extra, only. (If I'm in a hurry and cheating with a non-show dog, I might just break the hair off just above the tip with a stripping knife or - heaven forfend, thinning shears - doing so will leave a bit of a flat-top, but at least the tail is the right length and shaping can commence to re-form the tip.) Then I fan it just like Mysticsol8 describes, flattening the tail out in each axis (front-to-back, then side-to-side). Imagining a line that makes a triangle from tip to root, I pull from tip to root along that line any hairs that stick out past my imaginary line. First down one side, then down the other. Flatten on the other axis, repeat.

Couple of nicely shaped tails:

gallery_3_3_10458.jpg gallery_3_3_9891.jpg