CairnTalk

Blue Buffalo food from Petsmart...Anyone tried it?

Barney's Mom

Well, as much as I love Canidae dog food, I am getting weary from paying upwards of $20 dollars in shipping to get it to my house. So while at Petsmart the other day, I saw a holistic dog food called Blue Buffalo. Has anyone seen this dog food and tried it? I looked at the ingredients and they seemed pretty good.

Here's the ingredients page from their website:

http://www.bluebuff.com/products/dogs_puppies.shtml

Barney seems to be doing fine with it, and seems to love the taste. Well, he loves the taste of anything! :whistle:

If anyone knows any pros/cons to this food, please pass it on!

Thanks!! :)

All creatures great and small, the Lord God, He made them all!

Let me preface this by saying that I am no expert on food. I don't know if Barney has any issues with food or weight but I did notice that the amount of fat in the food is fairly high compared to Canidae and other brands (17%). Because Savannah has pancreatis (prob spelled wrong) I have to be very careful with the fat in her food. Regular Canidae is 14.5%, the lamb and rice formula is 12.5% and the low fat formula is 8.5%. Because she has not been enthusiastic about eating lately, I figured that she was tired of Canidae (she has been on it over a year straight) so I got a bag of BlackWood food (low fat formula) from our natural foods store to switch things up a bit. Do you have any kind of natural food store near you? I would probably trust anything that I could get from a natural foods store over a chain store. That is where I found Savannah's Canidae. They also have a bunch of other brands there too.

We give dogs time we can spare, space we can spare and love we can spare. And in return, dogs give us their all. It's the best deal man has ever made.

-M. Acklam

Savannah's Dogster Page

Most feed and seed farm stores carry Canidae.