CairnTalk

what color?

Barbee

I'm new at this but I have a question. I purchased a Cairn from the internet. His picture looked like he was wheaten, but when we went to get him he had been clipped and he looked red.

that was several months ago. I still haven't regestered him because his back is red and his face is wheaten. how long does it take for the top coat to grow back ? and do you think it will be wheaten. He looks a lot like the dog that Janet has on the forum. The seller didn't fill out the papers and Im not sure what to put. The Vet papers said Wheaten but he didn't see him after he was clipped.

Edited by Barbee

lol cairns coat changes all the time...my first cairn started out as a wheaten then she turned red then she got dark...her coat will continue to change it hard to say what color they will end up being

heres some of the colors of cairns

http://www.lachleen.dk/uk/Farver.htm

Dogs' lives are too short. Their only fault, really." - Carlotta Monterey O'Neill

At 18 months, Renny's coat has gone through a number of color changes.

When I got him, he was about the size and color of a brick with feet ( reddish brown ). Then he went through a blonde phase through the Summer, and now is getting more reddish. He also shows signs from time to time of a little silver, especially around his face.

I'm not sure at what age they reach a final color. Most estimates seem to vary between 1 to 2 years. I mentioned awhile back that if someone asks me what color my dog is, I check before answering, since it is still evolving.

Hagar.

But what color did you use to register your dog?

lol cairns coat changes all the time...my first cairn started out as a wheaten then she turned red then she got dark...her coat will continue to change it hard to say what color they will end up being

heres some of the colors of cairns

http://www.lachleen.dk/uk/Farver.htm

So did you register you puppy as wheaten?