CairnTalk

K9 Nosework — D&E Go to School

bradl

Dundee & Elroy  are stoked after their first class in an introduction to nosework class. Road trip ... outdoor smells ... treats everywhere! 

Peggy had a brief exposure to nosework with Echo some years ago while I am completely new to it. Peggy worked with Dundee and I worked with Elroy.  There was also a Malinois. It was delightful to watch and learn how differently each dog worked.

Dundee appears to have found his calling late in life (he's 12) and is a dog on a mission! He is fast, methodical, and totally mission-focused. And it's a joyful mission as that boy is food-motivated and then some. You almost see the gears moving as he notices a drifting scent and then tries to home in on it.

Elroy at two has a completely different style. He was unfazed by the boxes (I guess some dogs are skittish of boxes for a variety of reasons) but would frequently check in with me. Find a treat, eat the treat, then look up at me. I don't know if he was looking to see if he'd be scolded, given another treat or the go-ahead to continue.  Every time I would utter a "good boy" he would stop and look to me. Then off to find another treat. It was a lot harder for me to see how he was tracking the scents, but after a few tries he seems to be building confidence. He is, true to his nature, a happy little worker, just way more people-focused than Dundee.

We're signed up for ten classes or so and this is just a foundational course so we're just working on the simplest building blocks for the dogs, and teaching the clumsy handlers (who, me?) things like how to keep the lead out of the dog's way when they are bopping around boxes strewn all over the place,  how to keep quiet and let the dogs sort things out without pressure from us, and if, when, and how to intervene to nip  potential bad habits from forming.