CairnTalk

All the great things about Cairns???

Shuki

Following on from my last Post where we are looking at adopting an 11 year old Cairns I would love to hear what all the good points are about this breed. I have no experience with them as a breed and our current dog is a cavoodle. 

Guest dog person

The main thing I would consider if I was you, would be:  Does the dog get along with my current dog?

The only way to find this out is to have the dogs meet.     We could tell you good things about cairns all day long but none of that matters if your current dog does not like him.    Dogs can have personality clashes just like people do, regardless of the breed or sex.

Cairns have some bad traits too, lol

Have you met the dog?   Have the visits gone well?

Can I afford the care of another dog, in example, unexpected vet bills and senior issues that may or may not come up for 2 dogs instead of just one.  

More dog food.  More heartworm preventives.  More flea/tick preventives.   More grooming.

Do you have the time to walk/exercise 2 dogs?   

No guarantees with anything in life.    I would jump in and try it out!  Or not, if you have concerns.

It may very well go smoothly.   Just have a backup plan in place for the pup in the off chance it doesn't work out.   

Edited by dog person

we all know the dues one pays for raising a cairn puppy --and they are puppies a long time, sometimes till they are 4 years old. and we know the rewards of the dues --a mature, loyal, sympathetic, funny, inspiring companion. it is hard to resist getting the best of both --a mature cairn who needs and deserves a some serious golden years. the stress is behind you, the wonders are all there. 

• Like 3

1. They don't shed - or shed minimally. 

2. Low maintenance - They have no natural body odor and their harsh coats shed dirt -  some folks only bathe them once a year, and some never do - with no ill effects. ( in fact, too much bathing can be bad for their skin).