CairnTalk

A delicate question

Sam I Am

So Sam is just over 15 weeks now and is definitely showing what I think are sexual advances towards Rosie. Sniffing girlie equipment, trying to hump her (anywhere will do in his mind) and generally driving her a bit crazy.  His testicals haven't appeared yet (hence the "peas"). I don't remember Jock being so ...for a better word passionate (lol) towards our other Scottie, Sandie.  Would love to hear other Experiences. When do dogs become sexually active and or interested.? Or do I have MR Valentine :P ?

Until one has loved an animal, a part of  one's soul remains unawakened.  - Anatole France

Adventures with Sam &Rosie

Idaho Cairns

Never have having a male Cairn I have no direct experience with the behavior you describe from a boy dog but if it is any consolation, I have seen female Cairns do a fine imitation of "dry humping" other dogs--that particular act is associated with canine dominance as well as reproductive drive.
Unless the male is neutered, that behavior is liable to continue--it is as natural as the driven snow in January-- boys will be boys you know.

• Like 1

Ha ha Chuck I knew you would be brave enough to supply some answers!

In Sam's case pretty sure it isn't dominance as Rosie is definitely the queen bee and has told him in no uncertain terms a few time.....much howling and ungodly sounds from a terrified Sam! And me having a heart attack! Sam will definitely have his "peas" removed at around 6-7 months. I   Remember when Jock was neutered at 6 months, his testicles were so tiny, that I even wondered if he had any. Perhaps that's why he tried to prove he was a real boy by dating Ms Ball all his life.:D

• Like 1

Until one has loved an animal, a part of  one's soul remains unawakened.  - Anatole France

Adventures with Sam &Rosie