CairnTalk

Choking and gagging

JoJo

I'm new to Cairn terriers - just got my first one about 4 months ago.  She seems to sort of choke and gag a lot - like she has something stuck in her throat and can't get it up or down.  Of course, she doesn't do it at the vet's....has anyone had a similar experience and can offer any advice?  I'm just worried about the girl and would like to eliminate whatever is causing her to do this.

I also have a 4 month old puppy, and an older 1 and 1/2 year old.  The only time I have ever heard the chocking and gagging is when they drink a lot of water way too fast.  I hope it will resolve on it's own for her.

Does she eat grass? Rosie chokes and gags when she has eaten quack grass. I suspect that it irritates her throat.

• Like 1

Until one has loved an animal, a part of  one's soul remains unawakened.  - Anatole France

Adventures with Sam &Rosie

The vet should have been able to look down her throat. Was that done? If it continues I would ask about doing some sort of scan/xray. It's probably benign... an irritation that will clear up on its own, but if it continues to cause discomfort, that alone would be a reason to investigate further and rule out something more problematic.

After an incident with Ruffy caused his collar to be violently jerked by his leash, he gagged and coughed for a few days. I was about to call the vet on the second day, but thankfully the problem cleared up on its own.

• Like 1

FEAR THE CAIRN!

Thanks for the advice.  I have been wondering about her training collar.  The vet did check her throats but didn't see anything.  She's always putting something in her mouth, grass, bugs, Little Rock's, so I'm sure its not helping.  I hope she outgrows this behavior!  I was wondering if it might be a characteristic of the shorter snout - never had a dog with one.

Pulling on the leash attached to collar can cause this. What kind of collar are you using?